Domestic Efforts

My commitment to write a blog a week is….ummmm….in process. On the surface it seems so easy, but every time my weekly calendar reminder pops up, it seems like more of a task than something I WANT to do. Part of this is guilt for not having done very well at keeping up with it…ever….but particularly over the past few months. Going to try harder.

Partially because the fall weather makes me want to eat delicious comfort food, partially because I want to be a good cook, and partially out of weekend boredom (the doctor has a month of weekly tests = more study time than usual), I’ve started cooking. Yay for the Dirty Thirty list!

Everything has turned out fantastically this far, so I thought I’s share my favorites.

Harvest Chicken Quinoa Soup from Iowa Girl Eats. Oh so good. I added extra garlic and a little mustard powder. Plus, I made too much quinoa, so I had extra to add to the leftovers, making it more stew-y than soup and even more healthy! This dish also officially introduced me to kale and quinoa, which are quickly becoming staples.

Stuffed Shells. I made these for our neighbors who have a new baby. Super easy, and stores well. I added a garlic clove, pepper, and sprinkled mozzarella over the whole dish to finish. Also used canned sauce, because I’m a little lazy. I’ll make my own sauce someday. We ate the shell that failed and fell apart while it cooked. The doctor licked the filling bowl. That good.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Doug Brownies. We call it the best dessert ever. Disappeared in minutes.

Man-Pleasing Chicken. Lives up to its name.

Peanut Butter Cookies. An oldie but a goodie.

Sweet and Spicy Bacon Chicken. We cooked instead of grilled.

Lemon Almond Macaroons. Easy, and yet impressive dessert.

Chick-fil-A Bites. This recipe has saved me, because their nuggets are my favorite fast food ever and I now refuse to eat there. I used veggie oil instead of peanut oil–I think the peanut oil is a far superior choice. The sauce is also yummy and good on sandwiches and salads. Greek yogurt is pretty much my favorite secret ingredient ever.

About penultimatist

Columbia Heights living, yoga practicing, avid reading, arts loving, nonprofit working, soccer playing semi-yupster
This entry was posted in Delicious, Live and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

